Dustin Selvage Wins Feature, 
Russ Hall Wins Championship!

BURLINGTON, IA (Bill W.) September 21, 2013 – Dustin Selvage won the battle.  Russ
Hall won the war.  At 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa on Saturday night,
Selvage, of Indianola won the season championship 30-lap feature over Hall.  But all
the Pleasant Hill, Iowa native Hall needed to do to clinch the 2013 Brockway
Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders season championship was take the green.

CJ Houseman, making his first sprint car start of 2013, led early from the pole
position in the 30-lapper with Hall and Selvage in tow.  The lead trio hit traffic
and on lap seven, Selvage slipped by Hall for the second spot.  Two laps later,
Houseman stumbled, allowing Selvage by for the lead.  Houseman would cruise over the
turn one berm, bringing a caution, while Tim Moore flipped in turn three.  Both were
uninjured, and Houseman would rejoin the field at the tail.

On the restart,
Selvage led Hall, Joe Beaver, Jarrod Schneiderman and Jon Agan.  When the green
fell, Schneiderman shot by Beaver into the show position and pursue the leaders.

The next fifteen laps went non-stop with Selvage guiding the Kenny Bragg #73 on the
cushion through lapped traffic.  

Joey Moughan was battling Bobby Mincer for sixth
when he tried to squeeze between Mincer and the lapped car of Jimmy Davies on lap
23.  He caught Davies left front wheel and the caution came out.  Davies amazingly
stayed right side up in the collision, and it set up a seven lap Dash to the

Selvage would pull away for his third career Sprint Invaders win, and
second of the season at 34 Raceway.  He would finish second in the season standings
to Hall, who would hold onto second.  Schneiderman finished third, ahead of Beaver
and hard-charger, Paul Nienhiser.  Moughan, Agan, Mincer, Matt Sutton and Matt
Krieger would round out the top ten.

Beaver, Agan, Selvage and Schneiderman were heat race winners.  Moughan claimed the
B main and Beaver also won the Dash.

“I felt like I was getting through the lapped
traffic pretty well, then I would get hung up on a couple of cars,” said Selvage in
Victory Lane.  “I saw Russ there a few times, and I didn’t know how he was getting
through traffic.  The restart late helped us I think, because we had clean air at
that point.  This car is owned by Kenny Bragg and Chris McGraw.  They decided over
the winter to do this whole Sprint Invaders deal, and I was the lucky one to get to
drive it.”

“I’d like to thank all the fans for coming out tonight, and for
supporting us all year,” said a happy Hall.

“This Sprint Invaders series is the best one going.  I get to run with a lot of
organizations, but this is definitely my favorite.  It has the best drivers and the
cleanest drivers.  Unfortunately, my Dad couldn’t make it tonight.  He sacrificed
everything for this team.  I wish he could have been here.”

“We kind of got behind
trying to get by some of the guys that started in front of us,” said the third place
Schneiderman.  “When we got to lapped traffic, we kind of reeled the leaders back
in.  The yellow came out and we were behind some lapped cars, so they were able to
get out by themselves.  We were alright tonight.”

Roberts and Gates also pick up wins

By Dana Royer/34 Raceway

Bill Roberts, Jr., Burlington, won his second IMCA Modified feature of the 2013
season at 34 Raceway Saturday night. Roberts took the lead of the nineteen car field
on the first lap from his front row start. Roberts had to hold off challenges from
Steve Stewart and Josh Sherbon early on before pulling away. A caution on lap
nineteen made for a green, white checkered finish giving Stewart and Tyler Glass,
who had moved into the third spot, a shot at the leader. But Roberts would again
pull away to take the checkered flag.

Adam Gates, Cedar Rapids, would get his first 2013 win at 34 Raceway. Gates took the
lead from Wayne Noble  (who would eventually pull off the track into the infield)
on lap four and would pull away from the field taking the checkered flag by a large
margin. Brian Mehaffy would follow in the second spot.

Coming up.

One more night of thrills will complete the 2013 racing season at 34 Raceway with
the Midwest Performance and Power 4 Wheeler and Pit Bike Challenge on Saturday, Sept
28.  Quads, Bikes and Side X Sides will take on a specially made course with turns,
jumps and bumps. Admission is just $5.00 with kids admitted FREE. Pit gates open at
2 p.m. Grandstands at 4 p.m. Practice , 5 p.m and racing begins at 6:15. For more
information go to 34raceway.com.

34 Raceway Sept. 21 results


FEATURE: 1. Bill Roberts, Jr., Burlington, 2. Tyler Glass, Cedar Rapids, 3. Steve
Stewart, Burlington, 4. Chris Snyder, Raymond, 5. Mitch Morris, Eldridge, 6. Dustan
Fenton, Burlington, 7. Dennis LaVeine, West Burlington, 8. Dean McGee, Galesburg,
Il., 9. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Il., 10.  Johnathan Huston, Columbus Junction, 11.
Elmer Arnold, Sperry, 12. Ben Chapman, Clarence, 13. Dugan Thye, Burlington, 14.
Skyler Stark, Donnellson,  15. Levi Smith, Donnellson, 16. Josh Sherbon, Cedar
Falls, 17. Quienten Schoffner, Monmouth, Il., 18. Darrow Lillie, Burlington, 19.
Josh Barta, Cedar Falls. HEAT WINNERS: Stewart, Waterman, LaVeine.


FEATURE: 1. Adam Gates, Cedar Rapids, 2. Brian Mehaffy, Danville, 3. Justin
Chamberlan, Fort Madison, 4. Ken Stogdell, East Moline, Il., 5. Shawn Baker,
Burlington, 6. Wayne Noble, Wapello, 7, Billy Stanford, Wapello, 8. Drake Fenton,
Burlington, 9. Jerrod Nichols, Stronghurst. HEAT WINNER: Gates.



FEATURE: 1. Dustin Selvage, Indianola, 2. Russ Hall, Pleasant Hill, 3. Jarrod
Schneiderman, West Burlington, 4. Joe Beavers, Knoxville, 5. Paul Nienhiser, Chapin,
Il.,  6. Joey Moughan, Springfield, Il., 7. John Agan, Knoxville, 8. Bobby Mincer,
Burlington, 9. Matt Sutton, Macomb, Il., 10. Matt Krieger, Macomb, Il., 11. Chris
Martin, Ankeny, 12. Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, 13. Justin Newberry,
Danville, 14. Laney Feight, Indianola, 15. Andy Huston, Roseville, Il., 16. CJ
Housemen, Norwalk,  17. Dave Getchell, Sperry, 18. Jimmy Davies, Oquawka, Il., 19.
Tommy Rockwell, Towanda, Il., 20. Tim Moore, Moline, Il., 21. Patrick Moore,
Bettendorf. HEAT WINNERS:  Beavers, Agan, Selvage, Jarrod Schneiderman. B-Main-

Budweiser “King of Beers” Shake-up Dash (started, 6 laps): 1. Joe Beaver (4) 2.
Dustin Selvage (3) 3. Jon Agan (6) 4. Jarrod Schneiderman (5) 5. CJ Houseman (1) 6.
Russ Hall (7) 7. Justin Newberry (2) 8. Ryan Jamison (8)

Weld – Dave Getchell
Saldana Racing Products – Pat Moore
SBI – Jimmy
DOC 360 – Chris Martin, Justin Newberry, Andy Huston.

Lap Leaders: CJ Houseman 1-8, Selvage 9-30. KSE Hard Charger: Nienhiser.

Share this post