HUGE Candy dash a 550lb SUCCESS + Tyler Glass picks up his first career Ryner Transportation IMCA Modified WIN!

HUGE Candy dash a 550lb SUCCESS + Tyler Glass picks up his first career Ryner Transportation IMCA Modified WIN!

Watts wins stock car thriller, Glass gets first career win at 34 Raceway

By Dana Royer/34 Raceway

BURLINGTON, IA (5-31-14) – Racing in all six classes was back in action on Family
Motors Night at 34 Raceway Saturday, May 31. Tyler Glass, Cedar Rapids, picked up
his first career feature win in the Ryner Transportation IMCA Modified feature.
Bobby Anders, Quincy, Il., (sport mods), Devon Rouse, Burlington, (mod lites), Shane
Watts, Burlington (stock cars) and Austen Becerra, Carthage, Il. (4 cylinders) all
got repeat wins for the season. Daniel Bergquist, Burlington, who finished second,
would get the win in the W.T. Gabeline and Sons Trucking 305 Sprint feature
following a disqualifying of the winner.

Kids were treated to a HUGE candy dash on the front stretch totaling 550 lbs of
candy courtesy of Timmerman Racing, Keltner Racing, Wenig Racing, Family Motors,
Landheer Racing, Jeff Sandy Waterman Racing, Dominguez Racing, Jay Dean, Mike’s
Auto Parts, 3D & Don Fenton Racing, Rachael Rager Racing, Brian & Gloria Shipley, 34
Raceway and many more.

Coming up this week, Saturday, June 7 will be Louisa Communications Night with
racing in all six classes. Midwest Performance and Power Clash for Cash Night #3 for
Quads, Bikes and Side by Sides return June 14 and the popular $5 Fan Appreciation
Night is back on Casebine Credit Union Night June 21. Make your plans and get your
tickets now for the WOO “Salute to the King” World of Outlaws 410 Sprint Car races
coming to 34 Raceway, Friday, June 27. You won’t want to miss this huge show!!!. For
more information go to

Brody Anders, Quincy, Il., couldn’t contain his excitement after being taken to
victory lane when his dad, Bobby Anders, won the Casebine Credit Union IMCA Sport
Mod feature at 34 Raceway Saturday night. The four year old was cheering all the way
in excitement running to his dads arms and would raise the trophy to the fans in an
excited celebration. Anders picked up his third win this season at 34 after taking
the lead from Brett Timmerman on lap thirteen of the fifteen lap race. Timmerman
took the lead from his second row start and led the fourteen car field till Anders
was able to take the lead in turn three. Timmerman would finish second followed by
Joey Gower, John Oliver, Jr and Tony Dunker rounding out the top five.

Ron Kibbe, looked set to get his first Louisa Communications 4 Cylinder feature win
but with just three laps to go would suddenly slow on the back stretch coming to a
stop in turn four to bring out the only caution of the sixteen car, twelve lap
feature. John Richardson would take over the lead and would battle Austen Becerra
for the next three laps before Becerra would get by for the lead on the white flag
lap, going on to take the win by several car lengths. Richardson would finish second
followed by Dustin Ravelin, Larry Miller and Daytona Fenton rounding out the top

In one of the best races of the season, the Pepsi IMCA Stock Car feature was a
thriller ending with Shane Watts getting his second win this year. There was plenty
of bumper to bumper, close racing for the fans. With Watts worked hard to hold his
lead over John Oliver, Jr., Tommy Bowling, John Brockway, Jim Lynch, and Ray Raker
providing some exciting racing. Watts would hold his lead taking the win with
Oliver on his bumper in the twenty lap race.

Tyler Glass, Cedar Rapids, picked up his first career win in the Ryner
Transportation IMCA Modified feature. A nice field of fifteen cars took to the
track with Collin Rothzen and Dugan Thye on the front row. Thye led the field for
the first four laps of the twenty lapper before Tyler Glass would take over the
number one spot on lap five. By mid race Glass would work his way through lap
traffic and went on to get his first win. Todd Hanson, Bill Roberts, Jr., Levi
Laymon and Dean McGee would round out the top five.

Fifteen year old Devon Rouse, Burlington, was back in victory lane after winning his
second Coors Light Mod Lite feature Saturday night. Rouse took the lead from his
front row start in the twelve lap race. Rouse had developed a large lead over the
field early on but by the end of the race, Daniel Keltner had closed the gap after
Rouse encountered lap traffic making for an exciting finish. Keltner would pull up
along side of Rouse as they passed the grandstands but Rouse held off the challenge
to take the win by only a few feet.

Chase Wanner, Agency, took the checkered flag in the final feature of the night but
would later be disqualification in post race tech when his motor didn’t pump the
correct size. His DQ gave the win to second place finisher Daniel Bergquist. Daniel
Justin Newberry, Sahen Quam and John Schulz would round out the top five in another
nice field of cars the went non stop for twenty laps.

34 Raceway May 31 results


FEATURE: 1. Daniel Bergquist, Burlington, 2. Justin Newberry, Danville, 3. Shane
Quam, Gladstone, Il., 4. John Schulz, West Burlington, 5. Jayson Ditsworth,
Gladstone, Il., 6. Cody Wehrle, Burlington, 7. Nick Guernsey, Burlington, 8. Andy
Huston, Roseville, Il., Burlington, 9. Donnie Steward, West Burlington, 10. Dustin
Clark, Eldon, 11. Kyle Peterson, Gladstone, Il., 12. Dillan Roth, Burlington, 13.
Andy Krieger, Burlington, 14. Blaine Jamison, Mediapolis, 15. Roger Krieger,
Burlington, 16. Shawn Whiting, West Burlington. HEAT WINNERS: Wanner, Peterson,


FEATURE: 1. Tyler Glass, Cedar Rapids, 2. Todd Hansen, Muscatine, 3. Bill Roberts,
Jr., Burlington, 4. Levi Laymon, Muscatine, 5. Dean McGee, Galesbrug, Il., 6. Mitch
Morris, Eldridge, 7. Collin Rothzen, Media, Il., 8. Blake Woodruff, Galesburg, Il.,
9. Larry McConnell, Danville, 10. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Il., 11. Rich Smith,
Davenport, 12. Brandon Rothzen, Gladstone, Il., 13. Dennis LaVeine, West Burlington,
14. Darrow Lillie, Burlington, 15. Dugan Thye, Burlington. HEAT WINNERS: LaVeine, B.


FEATURE: Shane Watts, Burlington, 2. John Oliver, Jr., Danville, 3. John Brockway,
Morning Sun, 4. Jim Lynch, Donnellson, 5. Ray Raker, Danville, 6. Tom Bowling,
Danville, 7. Jason Cook, Mt. Pleasant, 8. Les Blakely, Fairfield, 9. Jim “Bo”
Hunter, Burlington, 10. Randy Wachter, Burlington, 11. Dane Fenton, Burlington, 12.
Jake Wenig, Burlington, 13. Chad Krogmeier, Burlington, 14. Wayne Landheer, Carmen,
Il., HEAT WINNERS: Hunter, Lynch.


FEATURE: 1. Bobby Anders, Quincy, Il., 2. Brett Timmerman, Wapello, 3. Joey Gower,
Quincy, Il., 4. John Oliver, Jr., Danville, 5. Tony Dunker, Quincy, Il., 6. Kyle
Hill, New London, 7. Bradley Holtmeyer, Quincy, Il., 8. Chris Larson, Keokuk, 9.
Sean Wyett, Danville, 10. Tom Lathrop, Ottumwa, 11. Adam Shelman, Ames, 12. Scott
Williams, Atkins, 13. Rodger Dresden, Keokuk, 14. Creston Williams, Newhall. HEAT
WINNERS: Williams, Gower.


FEATURE: 1. Austen Becerra, Carthage, Il., 2. John Richardson, Morning Sun, 3.
Dustin Ravelin, Burlington, 4. Larry Miller, Burlington, 5. Daytona Fenton,
Burlington, 6. Cody Washburne, Mt. Pleasant, 7. Roy Norton, Burlington, 8. Bryerson
Tharp, Grandview, 9. Shawn Baker, Burlington, 10. Kimberly Abbott, Camp Point, Il.,
11. Brian Mehaffy, Danville, 12. Jerrod Nichols, Stronghurst, Il., 13. Rachael
Reger, Burlington, 14. Kevin Mortimer, Buggsville, Il., 15. Ron Kibbe, Danville, 16.
Duane Dixon, West Burlington. HEAT WINNERS: Becerra, Kibbe.


FEATURE: 1. Devon Rouse, Burlington, 2. Daniel Keltner, Coralville, 3. Justin
Buchholz, Davenport, 4. Collin Ball, Wapello, 5. Gary Snyder, Monmouth, Il., 6.
Jimmy Halcomb, Kirkwood, Il., 9. Graham Fate, Peoria, Il. HEAT WINNER: Keltner.


Share this post