Moyer gets $10,000 win in 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals action at 34 Raceway

By Jordan Morris (STL Racing)

BURLINGTON, Iowa. — July 12, 2014- One night after claiming his series-leading 87th
career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory, six-time DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion
Billy Moyer led the final 14 laps en route to capturing his 88th career checkered
flag Saturday night at 34 Raceway.

Moyer captured the pole-position for the 40-lap feature event over local driver
Chris Simpson, of Oxford, Iowa. On the race’s opening lap, Simpson shot around Moyer
who struggled to get going, as he fell back to fifth. Simpson controlled the top
spot for the races first 26 laps, building a comfortable lead over third-place
starter Brian Shirley.

Moyer charged his way back through to the field, and was in the right place at the
right time when the leader jumped the cushion in the third-turn on lap 27. Simpson
finally regained control of his car but had fallen to third, handing the lead over
to Moyer.

Moyer held the top-spot for the final 14 laps, turning back seventh-place starter
Brian Birkhofer, en route to claiming the $10,000 checkered flag at 34 Raceway – his
second in as many nights after winning Friday night at Farmer City Raceway.

“We just worked our butts off here in the pits trying to stay on top of the car, and
not knowing much about this place, everything was pretty much a guess,” said Moyer,
whose victory celebrations were cut short after a rain shower moved into the area.
“I don’t know if we had the best car or not. I had to work my butt off, I know

Shannon Babb had a 28-point lead over Ryan Unzicker heading into Saturday night’s
action, but due to engine problems had to exit the feature event on lap 12. Babb now
clings to a 14-point advantage with just five races remaining in the six-week long

Simpson, Brandon Sheppard and Tanner English rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Simpson, Moyer and Brian Shirley.

DirtCar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Super Late Models

FEATURE: 1. Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ar., 2. Brian Birkhofer, Muscatine, 3. Chris
Simpson, Oxford, 4. Brandon Sheppard, New Berlin, Il., 5. Tanner English, Benton,
Ky., 6. Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, Il., 7. Jason Rauen, Farley, 8. Jason Riggs,
Harrisburg, Il., 9. Dustin Griffin, Camp Point, Il., 10. Denny Woodworth, Mendon,
Il., 11. Mendon, Il., 12. Todd Frank, Montrose, Ia., 13. Spencer, Diercks,
Davenport, 14. Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, Il., 15. Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, Il., 16.
Brian Harris, Davenport, 17. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, 18. Brian Shirley,
Chatham, Il., 19. Gary Christian, Broken Bow, Ok., 20. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, Il.,
21. Jason Feger, Bloomington, Il., 22. Ray Gus, Jr., Milan, Il.,

C-MAIN – 1. Jason Rauen, 2. Dustin Griffin, 3. Denny Woodworth, 4. Skip Frey,
Swisher, 5. Jason Utter, 6. Gary Christian, 7. Mark Burgtorf, 8. Robby Warner, 9.
Steve Lance, Jr., Cuba, Il., 10. Justin Reed, 11. Ray Guss, Jr.

HEAT 1: 1. Shannon Babb, 2. Chris Simpson, 3. Brian Birkhofer, 4. Ryan Unzicker, 5.
Dustin Griffin, 6. Todd Frank, 7. Jason Utter, 8. Robby Wanner, 9. Jason Rauen.
HEAT 2: 1. Billy Moyer, 2. Justin Reed, 3. Jay Johnson, 4. Tanner English, 5. Jason
Riggs, 6. Brian Harris, 7. Gary Christian, 8. Steve Lance, 9. Skip Frey. HEAT 3: 1.
Brian Shirley, 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Jason Feger, 5. Spencer
Diercks, 6. Denny Woodworth, 7. Mark Burgtorf, 8. Ray Guss, Jr.

Williams, Davis also pick up wins

By Dana Royer/34 Raceway

Along with the Super Late Models taking on 34 Raceway were the Casebine Credit Union
IMCA Sport Mods and the MLRA Midgets. Creston Williams, Newhall, Iowa picked up his
second straight win at 34 Raceway in the Sport Mod feature which was the final race
of the night. Williams took the lead on the second lap of the fifteen lap race from
Bradley Holtmeyer, Quincy, Illinois, and went on to take the checkered flag to lead
the fifteen car field. Sean Wyett, Danville moved into the second spot on lap twelve
from his fifth row start to finish second. Joey Gower, Holtemeyer and Kyle Hill
rounded out the top five.

Mitchell Davis, Auburn, Illinois, got his first win at 34 Raceway in the MLRA Midget
feature. Davis took the win from Johnny Murdock on lap five and went on to take the
chekered flag in their final scheduled stop of the year for the MLRA Midgets at 34
Raceway. Brayden Gaylord, Johnny Murdock, Aaron Schuck and Jeff Mallonee rounded out
the top five.

Coming up this week, Saturday, July 19 at 34 Raceway is W.T. Gabeline and Sons
Trucking Night All six classes will be in action.


FEATURE: 1. 1. Creston Williams, Newhall, 2. Sean Wyett, Danville, 3. Joey Gower,
Quincy, Il., 4. Bradley Holtmeyer, Quincy, Il., 5. Kyle Hill, New London, 6. Bobby
Anders, Quincy, Il., 7. Adam Shelman, Ames, 8. Brett Timmerman, Wapello, 9. Tom
Lathrop, Ottumwa, 11. Brian Woodruff, Abington, Il., 13. Scott Williams, Atkins, 14.
Dakota Simons, Libertyville, 15. Randy Ferrell, East Moline, Il., HEAT WINNERS:
Hill, Holtmeyer.


FEATURE: 1. Mitchell Davis, Auburn, Il., 2. Brayden Gaylord, Wever, 3. Johnny
Murdock, St. Louis, Mo., 4. Aaron Schuck, Joliet, Il., 5. Jeff Mallonee, Bettendorf,
6. Jeremy Hull, 7. Katlynn Leer, Moulton, 8. Shane Morgan, Creve Coeur, Il., 9.
Robert Bell, Colfax, 10. Aaron Hull, Cameron, Il., 11. Rodney Bliesener, Burlington.
HEAT WINNERS: Davis, Murdock.

Share this post