Oliver makes history at 34 Raceway with 2 titles in same season  Although another driver approximately 5 years ago, earned the most points in two different classes in the same season in 34 Raceway history… a True Champion was crowned Saturday night as the FIRST MULTI CLASS 2016 TRACK CHAMPION at 34 Raceway!!!

By Dana Royer/34 Raceway

John Oliver, Jr. made track history for being the first driver to win two track titles in different divisions in the same year. Oliver picked up the championshipsin both the IMCA Sport Mods and IMCA Stock Cars while Jeff Waterman won his third track championship. 2016 34 Raceway Track Points Champions crowned Saturday night
were: Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Il. (IMCA Modifieds), Jarrod Schneiderman, West Burlington (305 sprints), John Oliver, Jr. Danville (IMCA Sport Mods AND IMCA Stock cars), Ron Kibbe, Danville (4 cylinders), Jeff Mallonee, Bettendorf (IMRA Midgets)  and Mike Morrill, Pleasant Hill (mod lites).

Three of the new track champions also picked up feature wins including Jeff Waterman, Jarrod Schneiderman and Mike Morrill. Also picking up wins on the final point race of the season were Ron Kibbe, Danville (4 cylinders), Hunter Lane, Milo (IMRA Midgets), Jarrod Schneiderman, West Burlington (305 sprints), Tom Bowling,
Jr., Danville (IMCA Stock Cars), and Joey Gower, Quincy, Il. (IMCA Sport Mods).

Coming UP: Following a two week break, Brockway Company presents the Shottenkirk Sprint Invaders Season Championship to cap off the 2016 season. Also on the card will be the Mod Lite Nationals, 4 Cylinders and IMRA Midgets. Chris Martin leads the point race for the Sprint Invaders with 2157 points followed by Jarrod Schneiderman, John Schulz, Dave Getchell and Josh Schneiderman in the top five.

It came down to the final night with two classes seeing only a one point difference in the point battle. The field was set by points for the IMCA Sport Mods and John Oliver, Jr. held one point lead over Daniel Keltner. But for Keltner the championship faded away when on the first lap he got too high coming out of turn one on the first lap and went off the track to bring out the caution. Keltner, in just his second year of sport mod racing, would have to work his way back from the rear of the field if he wanted to beat Oliver. Meanwhile Oliver just had to finish ahead of Keltner and that he did. Joey Gower would pick up the win, his fourth this season, while Oliver finished third. Keltner worked his way back up to seventh and five points behind Oliver.

Ron Kibbe picked up his first ever 4 Cylinder track championship. Kibbe battled Kimberly Abbott throughout the twelve lapper with Abbott taking the lead on lap ten for the win. Kibbe finished the point race season with 561 points followed by the 2015 champion Abbott with 534.

Mike Morrill makes the long drive from Pleasant Hill to 34 Raceway to compete in the Mod Lite division. The trip has been beneficial for Morrill picking up wins in six of the eight races. Morrill won the race and the championship by a 23 point advantage over Jimmy Halcomb.

Hunter Lane, Milo, Iowa, won his first IMRA Midget race at 34 Raceway after taking the lead on lap three of the fifteen lap feature. But the points championship went to Jeff Mallonee of Bettendorf, his first at 34 Raceway.

34 Raceway August 27, 2016 Results



FEATURE: 1. Jarrod Schneidermam, West Burlington, 2. John Schulz, West Burlington, 3. Dave Getchell, Sperry, 4. Brayden Gaylord, Wever, 5. Ben Wagoner, Emden, Il., 6. Bailey Goldesberry, Springfield, Il., 7. Andy Krieger, Burlington, 8. Nick Guernsey, Burlington, 9. Andrew Genkinger, Mt. Pleasant, 10. Harold Pohren, New London, 11. Tanner Gebhardt, Burlington, 12. Shane Quam, Gladstone, Il., 13. Nathan Murders, Burlington. HEAT WINNERS: Pohren, Quam.


FEATURE: 1. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Il., 2. Dean McGee, Galesburg, Il., 3. Bill Roberts, Jr., Burlington, 4. Dennis LaVeine, West Burlington, 5. Brandon Rothzen, Raritan, Il., 6. Blake Woodruff, Galesburg, Il., 7. Larry McConnell, Danville, 8. Colin Rothzen, Media, Il., 9. Dugan Thye, Burlington, 10. Mitch Boles, Mt. Pleasant, 11. Chadwick, Giberson, Richland, 12. Darrow Lillie, Burlington, 13. Levi Smith, Donnellson.


FEATURE: 1. Tommy Bowling, Danville, 2. John Oliver, Jr., Danville, 3. Jake Wenig, Burlington, 4. Abe Huls, Carthage, Il., 5. Dane Fenton, Burlington, 6. Ray Raker, Danville, 7. Ryan Cook, Burlington, 8. John Brockway, Morning Sun, 9. Dean Kratzer, Fort Madison, 10. James Lynch, Kahoka, Mo.


FEATURE: 1. Joey Gower, Quincy, Il., 2. Brandon Lennox, New London, Mo., 3. John Oliver, Jr., Danville, 4. Kyle Hill, New London, 5. Sean Wyett, Danville, 6. Austen Becerra, Carthage, Il., 7. Daniel Keltner, Grandview, 8. Creston Williams, Newhall, 9. Tom Lathrop, Ottumwa, 10. Justin Todd, Payson, Il., 11. Jason Riegel, Eldon, 12. Dakota Simmons, Douds, 13. Joe Laue, Wapello, 14. Scott Williams, Ely.

FEATURE: 1. Kimberly Abbott, Camp Point, Il., 2. Ron Kibbe, Danville, 3. Brandon Lambert, Carthage, Il., 4. Larry Miller, Burlington, 5. Duane Dixon, Burlington, 6. Jerrod Nichols, Stronghurst, Il., 7. Robert Kibbe, Danville, 8. Wayne Chamblee, Burlington, 9. Randy Magnuson, Burlington, 10. Kevin Mortimer, Biggsville, Il., 11. Chuck Fullenkamp, West Point, 12. Kevin Weak, Burlington. HEAT WINNERS: Fullencamp, Lambert.


FEATURE: 1. Mike Morrill, Pleasant Hill, 2. Jason Masengarb, Colona, Il., 3. Joe Huggins, Pleasant Hill, 4. Jimmy Halcomb, Kirkwood, Il., 5. Devon Rouse, Burlington, 6. Michael Dominguez, Lone Tree, 7. Erin Turner, Newton, 8. Wyatt Wilkerson, Morning Sun, 9. Jared Halcomb, Monmouth, Il., 10. Gary Snyder, Monmouth, 11. Austin Bowling, Danville. 12. Shane Barnes, Washington. HEAT WINNERS: Morrill, Halcomb.


FEATURE: 1. Hunter Lane, Milo, 2. Brock Hunnell, Eolia, Mo., 3. Jeff Mallonee, Bettendorf, 4. Dillon Morley, Moline, Il., 5. Jacob Sollenberger, Canton, Il., 6. Travis Pense, Biggsville, Il., 7. Kendra Leer, Moulton, 8. Jason Goble, Keithsburg, Il., 9. John Springer, Bushnell, Il., 10. Gedd Ross, Havana, Il., 11. Dave Anderson, Burlington, 12. Chase McDermand, Springfield, Il. HEAT WINNERS: Lane, Ross.


Share this post