Pierce Captures Fourth DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Victory in 2013 at 34 Raceway

BURLINGTON, IA— July 13, 2013 — The UMP Summer Nationals Hell Tour made its only stop in Iowa Saturday night, July 13 at 34 Raceway. $10,000 was up for grabs for the 26 cars competing in the series. Sixteen year old Bobby Pierce took the checkered flag ahead of Brian Birkhofer. Adam Shelman, Ames, picked up his first ever 34 Raceway win in the Weikert Iron and Metal IMCA Sports Mods, Austen Becerra, Carthage, Il.,  would get the  win in the I Connect You-Louisa Communications 4 Cylinders, Tanner Gipple, New London, won the Pro Quad/4 Wheeler feature, Derek St. Clair, Donnellson won the Amateur Quad/4 Wheeler feature and Jody Steward would get the win in the Pit Bike feature.

Coming up this week at 34 Raceway will be W.T. Gabeline and Sons Trucking night. W.T. Gabeline and Sons Trucking 305 Sprints, Coors Silver Bullet IMCA Modifieds, Weikert Iron and Metal IMCA Sport Mods, Mod Lites and the I Connect You/Louisa Communications 4 Cylinders will be taking to the track .

Bobby Pierce claimed his second win in as many nights and his fourth win of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” season Saturday night as he lead the final 15 laps and held off Brian Birkhofer at 34 Raceway in a thriller.

Pierce, of Oakwood, Ill., would have to pass fewer cars to capture this victory compared to the victory Friday night. Pierce started on the outside of row two, just behind the front row of points-leader Brandon Sheppard and Birkhofer, who grabbed the lead from Sheppard as the two drivers battled side-by-side for much of the early going. With Birkhofer and Sheppard putting on a show for the fans, the youngster Pierce was marching his way to the front.

Pierce, in the same fashion as his three previous wins, stayed glued to the bottom for the duration of the event as he picked up ground on the leaders. Pierce first caught and passed second place Sheppard on lap 25 and then leader Birkhofer one lap later. The 16-year-old easily maneuvered through lapped traffic and extended his lead over the final 15 laps, claiming another $10,000 checkered flag.

“I think once you get rolling along, you get too hard to beat,” said Pierce, who is now second in the point standings. “My dad chose the right tires. We were kinda debating on that the whole night, but we picked the right ones.”

Brandon Sheppard, Chris Simpson and Tanner English rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Brandon Sheppard, Chris Simpson and Brian Birkhofer.

Cautions plagued the Weikert Iron and Metal IMCA Sport Mod 15 lap feature this week and when all was said and done it was first time winner Adam Shelman taking the checkered flag. Shellman took the lead from Lyle Timmerman on lap four after the second caution of the race.  Bobby Anders worked his way to the second spot by lap eight and challenged Shelman for the next seven laps. On the final lap of the race, Anders shot by Shelman coming out of turn three for the lead but Shelman returned the favor  passing him for the lead coming out of turn four and took the checkered flag in an exciting finish.

Austen Becerra, Carthage, Il. got the win in the I Connect You-Louisa Communications 4 Cylinder feature which was called on a time limit. The race was stopped twice for red flags. Becky Dockendorf was transported by ambulance to be checked out after her car was T-boned hard. Jordan Tipps, rolled over turn one to bring out the second red flag.

The Pit Bikes and Quads were back in action for the second time this year on a new, redisgned track in the infield.. The new track provided more turns and bigger jumps. 41 bikes and quads turned out for the event coming from Iowa, Illinois and Missouri. Getting wins were Tanner Gipple, (Pro Quads), Derek St. Clair went from sport mod to Amateur Quad and picked up a win and Jody Steward took the checkered for the pit bike feature. Gipple picked up an extra $100 by starting in the back of the pack. Steward opted to start facing backwards on the backstretch in the pit bike feature  and after a tough battle to move up he was able to take the lead when current leader  Dustin Helling stalled.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals UMP Hell Tour

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Bobby Pierce ($10,000), 2. Brian Birkhofer, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Chris Simpson, 5. Tanner English, 6. Mark Burgtorf, 7. Chad Simpson, 8. Brian Shirley, 9. Shannon Babb, 10. Denny Eckrich, 11. Brian Harris, 12. Jason McBride, 13. Dustin Griffin, 14. Ryan Unzicker, 15. Jay Johnson, 16. Ron Elbe, 17. Tim Lance, 18. Randy Korte, 19. Richey Frankel, 20. Todd Frank, 21. Denny Woodworth, 22. Frank Heckenast Jr.


FEATURE: 1. Adam Shelman, Ames, 2. Bobby Anders, Quincy, Il., 3. Jeff Delonjay, Quincy, Il., 4. Creston Williams, Atkins, 5. Derek St. Clair, Donnellson, 6. Dean Kratzer, Fort Madison, 7. Sean Wyett, Danville, 8. Bradley Holtmeyer, Quincy, Il., 9. M Joe Bliven, Quincy, Il., 10. Rob Wilsey, Keokuk, 11. Victor Hastings, Oquawka, Il., 12. Don Crear, New London, 13. Scott Williams, Atkins, 14. Lyle Timmerman, Wapello,  15. Kyle Hill, New London. HEAT WINNERS: Wyett, Kratzer.


FEATURE: 1.  Austen Becerra, Carthage, Il., 2. Skip Dunker, Ursa, Il., 3. Wayne Noble, Wapello, 4. Jerrod Nichols, Stronghurst, Il., 5. Brandon Lambert, Carthage, Il., 6. Bryan Shipley, Burlington, 7. Bryerson Tharp, Grandview, 8. John Whalen, Ainsworth, 9. Kimberly Abbott, Camp Point, Il., 10. Robert Kibbe, Danville, 11. Larry Miller, Burlington, 12. Ron Kibbe, Danville, 13. Roy Norton, Burlington, 14. Kevin Mortimer, Biggsville, il., 15. Brian Mehaffy, Danville,  16. Shawn Baker, Burlington, 17. Jordan Tipps, Wapello, 18. Jacob Brown, Wapello, 19. Becky Dockendorf, Danville, 20. Darian Fenton, Burlington, 21. Brendan Mehaffy, Danville. HEAT WINNERS: Ron Kibbe, Dunker, Lambert.

Pro Quad Feature Results:   Tanner Gipple, Bryce Klenk, McCain Richards, Adam Seabold, Jayson Phillips, James Brown, Blaine Jamison, Layne Pullins, Mick Thompson, Brayden Huffman, Walker Hostetter, Dekota Job, Bryan Shipley, Justin Laue, Charlie Swailes.

Amateur Quad Feature results:  Derek St. Clair, Jeff Gabeline, Andrew Humphrey, Larry McCorrell, Huffman, Gregory, Williams, Bush, Neff, Collier, Conrad, Belknap, Thompson, & DNF’s by Miller, Gapen, N. Gabeline, & Balzer.

Pit Bike Final results: Jody Steward, Josh Mattix, Williams, Bryan Shipley, Dustin Helling, Bob Schnathorst, Logan Benson, David Olomon.


Share this post