Veteran, Dave Darland coming off a huge Kokomo Smackdown Championship last week,
took yet another five thousand dollar feature at the famed 34 Raceway in West
Burlington, Ia on Friday, August 30, 2013.     The track was lightning fast and had two and three grooves by
feature time.  Jayson Ditsworth took home the 305 Sprint win, as well as Tony Dunker picking up the win for the IMCA Sport Mod class.


Burlington, Iowa (8-30-13) – Although the point championships have been decided at
34 Raceway, not only the weather was hot but so was the action when the Amsoil USAC
410 Sprint Car series made a stop at the 3/8 mile. David Darland, Lincoln, In.
picked ups his third straight series win. Jason Ditsworth, Gladstone, Il. would take
the checkered flag in the 305 sprint feature and Tony Dunker, Quincy, Il. got the
win in the IMCA sport mod feature.

Coming up Friday and Saturday, Sept. 6 and 7 will be the two-night MOWA 410 Outlaw
Sprint Challenge. $4000 is up for grabs for the 410 Sprints Friday night and $5000
to the winner on Saturday night. A $1034 bonus will go to the racer who can win both
nights. Also on the card Friday night are the 4 cylinders $250 to win and Mod Lites
$300 to win. Saturday night the 4 cylinders will be back with $350 to win, Mod Lites
$400 to win and 305 Sprints will add to the excitement with $1000 win. Drivers who
can win both nights will receive an additional bonus. For more information go to

After picking up a huge win in last week’s “Sprint Car Smackdown II,” Dave Darland
kept the momentum rolling as he set a new track record at 34 Raceway and ended the
evening in victory lane. It was Darland’s fifth victory of the season, now tying him
for third all-time with Larry Dickson and Tracy Hines.

Brady Bacon wound up on the pole for the 30-lapper and was the man to beat,
immediately jumping to the lead and stretching out a huge lead over the rest of the
field. Darland battled his way to the front of a vicious pack racing for second,
slipping past Chris Windom and Kevin Thomas, Jr.

The race took a major turn as leader Bacon stopped with a broken rear-axle in
turn-two on lap 14. His lead had been 6.853 seconds over Darland on the last
completed lap. Bacon was okay, and Darland was handed the lead.

The Lincoln, Indiana driver was never seriously threatened from there. A caution
with ten to go put Windom on his tailtank, and the two remained close for a couple
laps before Darland found his rhythm on the cushion and gradually pulled to a
1.641-second win in the Phillips Motorsports – Racer’s Advantage 71p. The win puts
him just one point behind Jack Hewitt for second on the all-time Sprint Car win

“All those guys up there on the list are great, but we’ve all gotten to be on some
pretty great teams along the way. I have to thank the Phillipses and our group for
the hard work and giving me a great race car. We really work well together. It was
pretty heavy tonight, so we were busy pulling tear-offs in traffic. Luckily, it was
racey and we were able to get up through there.

Windom was strong, finishing second after starting seventh in the Jeff’s Jam-It-In
Storage – Hoosier Tire #11 Maxim/Claxton.

“He’s just too hard to beat up there like it was tonight. I could keep with him
through three and four, but he was getting off two so well. It seemed like I
couldn’t catch a good break to get to second, but once we did, we were really good,”
Windom said.

Bryan Clauson was quiet in the Feature, running in the top-five before jumping to
third in the Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing – Chevy Performance #20

“Had anybody else won, it would have been a good night for us in the championship.
We were decent all night, just needed to be better to run with Dave, obviously. We
couldn’t get free of guys early and get the bottom working, and by the time we got
in a

Darland would also get the fast time of 14.554 a new track record.


FIRST HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Cottle, 2. Bacon, 3. Darland, 4. Schuerenberg, 5. Dobbs, 6.
Sutton, 7. Farney. NT

SECOND HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Stockon, 2. Windom, 3. Ballou, 4. Grant, 5. K. Thomas, 6.
Houseman, 7. Huston.

THIRD HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Drake, 2. Hines, 3. Clauson, 4. Courtney, 5. Cummins, 6. S.
Thomas, 7. Shoemaker.

FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Dave Darland, 2. Chris Windom, 3. Bryan Clauson, 4. Justin
Grant, 5. Robert Ballou, 6. Chase Stockon, 7. Tracy Hines, 8. Kyle Cummins, 9. Kevin
Thomas, Jr., 10. Tyler Courtney, 11. Keaton Dobbs, 12. Nick Drake, 13. Steve Thomas,
14. Tyler Shoemaker, 15. Shane Cottle, 16. Matt Sutton, 17. Hunter Schuerenberg, 18.
Andy Huston, 19. Brady Bacon, 20. Mike Houseman, Jr. NT

Ditsworth, Dunker pick up supporting clas wins

By Dana Royer/34 Raceway

Jason Ditsworth, Gladstone, Il, picked up his second 305 sprint feature win this
season at 34 Racewayon Friday, August 30. Ditsworth took the lead in the twenty car
field from Ryan Jamison on lap four of the twenty lap race and went on to pull away
for the win. Jamison held on to his second place spot and Daniel Bergquist, Donnie
Steward and Cody Wehrle would follow. The 305 Sprints will be back next Saturday,
Sept. 7 during the MOWA 410 sprint  two night special.

Twelve IMCA sport mods took to the track for the second feature of the night with
Tony Dunker, Quincy, Il. getting the win. Making the switch from IMCA Stock Cars to
IMCA Sport Mods this week, Brett Timmerman, Wapello, took the early lead from his
front row start and had to work hard to hold off Dunker as they put on a show for
the fans as Dunker would pull along side Timmerman several times in the fifteen lap
race. Then finally persistence paid off for the Quincy driver when after several
tries he would finally get by Timmerman on lap fourteen and went on to pull away for
the win one lap later, his fourth at 34 Raceway this season.


FEATURE: 1. Jayson Ditsworth, Gladstone, Il., 2. RyanJamison, Mediapols, 3. Daniel
Bergquist, Burlington, 4. Donnie Steward, West Burlington, 5. Cody Wehlre,
Burlington, 8. Jarrod Schneiderman, Wet Burlington, 7. Justin Newberry, Danville, 8.
Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, 9. Nick Guernsey, Burlington, 10. Jacob Glasgow,
West Burlington, 11. Chase Wanner, Agency, 12. Dustin Whitign, Burlington, 13.
Dillan Roth, Burlington, 14. Heathy Bundy, Oquawka, Il., 15. Janelle Schneiderman,
West Burlington, 16. Kyle Peterson, Gladstone, 17. Gary Bonar, Burlington, 18. Dave
Getchell, Sperry, 19. John Schulz, West Burlington, 20 Austin Sears, Macomb, Il.,
HEAT WINNERS: Peterson, Jamison, Jarrod Schneiderman.


FEATURE: 1. Tony Dunker, Quincy, Il., 2. Brett Timmerman, Wapello, 3. Jeff Delonjay,
Quincy, Il., 4. Cory Myers, 5. Sean Wyett, Danville, 6. Dakota Simons, Libertyville,
7. Kyle hill, New London, 8. Dustin Smith, Davenport, 9. Randy Butterbrough, 10.
Andri Laport, 11. Carter Vandeneberg, 12. Adam Shelman, Ames. HEAT WINNERS:
Vandenberg, Hill.


Share this post