Johnson, Weikert, Williams and Noble get wins at 34 Raceway

By Dana Royer/34 Raceway

BURLINGTON, IA  (8-10-13) – Four classes  of cars took to the track on Weikert Iron
and Metal Night at 34 Raceway Saturday night with three of the four classes seeing
first time winners for the 2013 season.

All four classes kept the fans entertained with some side by side, bumper to bumper
action. Three of the four features saw a battle for the lead and ended in some close
finishes.  Jay Johnson, West Burlington (UMP Late Models), Creston Williams, Atkins
(IMCA Sport Mods),  and Mike Weikert, Jr., Muscatine (IMCA Modifieds) all picked up
first wins while Wayne Noble, Wapello won his second 4 Cylinder feature this season
at 34 Raceway.  Race fans enjoyed an on track autograph session meeting with the
drivers competing Saturday night  on the front stretch.

Coming up this Saturday, August 17  will be the fan favorite “Night of the Twins
featuring the Brockway Mechanical and Roofing Sprint Invaders 360 Sprints. Fans will
see not one, but two, Sprint Invaders features. Also on the card, the UMP Late
Models return as well as the I Connect You/Louisa Communications 4 Cylinders and the
Mod Lites are back this week. Coming up Saturday, August 24 will be $5 Fan
Appreciation Season Championship night with final point races for all six classes.
4-H members are invited to wear  their green 4-h shirt and get admitted free to the

Sprint fans can mark their calendars for not one but two special events coming up.
The first huge event will be on Friday, August 30 when the USAC Triple Crown
Non-Wing 410 Sprints will be at 34 Raceway. Also competing will be the 305 Sprints
($750 to win, $125 to start) and IMCA Sport Mods ($500 to win, $75 to start).

On Friday, Sept. 6 and Saturday, Sept. 7 is a big two night show for sprint fans
when the MOWA (Midwest Open Wheel Association) returns to 34 Raceway for the 410
Outlaw Sprint  Challenge. $4000 will go to the winner of the 410 sprint feature with
a bonus $1000 to win both nights. Also on the card are 4 cylinders and Mod Lites.

Check out www.34Raceway.com for more information on some FANtastick upcoming events.
There is plenty more exciting racing action to come plus the return of Pit Bikes
and Quads so check the schedule on www.34raceway.com and don’t miss out.

The Weikert Iron and Metal IMCA Sport Mods took to the track for the first feature
of the night with Creston Williams, Atkins, getting his first ever 34 Raceway win in
a thrilling finish. Williams took the lead on the first lap of the fifteen lap race.
But a caution on lap eight allowed  four time winner Bobby Anders to take the lead
on the restart. Williams started to challenge Anders for the lead on the reaming
four laps. On the final lap of the race Williams went to the outside of Anders
heading into turn four and took the lead back crossing the finish line just ahead of
Anders. A puff of smoke emerged from Anders car as he followed Williams across the
finish line. One point race remains for the sport mods with Anders leading the
points with 417 followed by Sean Weytt with 392 and Derek St. Clair with 390.

It was Weikert Iron and Metal night at 34 Raceway Saturday night and what better
night for Mike Weikert, to get his first IMCA Modified feature win than on that
night. Weikert took the lead on the first lap of the eighteen car, 20 lap feature.
Weikert, Muscatine and Bill Roberts, Jr., Burlington,  put on a show for the crowd
throughout the 20 lapper racing side by side, bumper to bumper several times
throughout the race.  Roberts tried a couple moves to get by Weikert but wouldn’t be
able to get it done as Weikert would get his first win this season.  Dennis LaVeine,
Mitch Morris and Jeff Waterman were close behind finishing in that order. Mitch
Morris leads  the point race with one race to go for the modifieds with 376 points
followed by Jeff Waterman with 351.

A nice field of 22 I Connect You/Louisa Communications 4 Cylinders were up next with
Wayne Noble, Wapello, picking up his second win of the year. Noble took the lead
from Billy Stanford on lap four on a yellow flag restart and would pull away from
the field. The battle for second was going on between Stanford and John Whalen.
Whalen took advantage of the third yellow flag restart to get by Stanford and would
hold off Stanford’s challenge to finish second. Kimberly Abbot and Jacob Brown
rounded out the top five after moving up form their 12th and 15th starting starting
spots. Two point races remain for the 4 Cylinders with Noble holding a narrow 14
point lead over John Whalen.

The final feature of the night were  the UMP Late Models who put on a show for the
fans. Jay Johnson took the early lead in the twenty lap feature but had his hands
full holding off Mark Burgtorf for the entire twenty laps.  Burgtorf tried
everything he could to get by Johnson pulling along side several times. Johnson was
running hard and strong and would hold off Burgtorf taking the checkered flag by 2
car lengths  in an exciting finish. Dustin Griffin, Jared Schlipman and Brian Harris
rounded out the top five. With two more point races remaining for the late models,
Mark Burgtorf holds a 46 point lead over Denny Woodworth.

34 Raceway August 10, 2013 results

FEATURE: 1. Mike Weikert, Jr., Muscatine, 2. Bill Roberts, Jr., Burlington, 3.
Dennis LaVeine, West Burlington, 4. Mitch Morris, Eldridge,  5. Jeff Waterman,
Quincy, Il., 6. Ryan Cook, Hillsboro, 7. Dustan Fenton, Burlington, 8. Cole
Stichter, Shannon, Il., 9. Quienten Schoffner, Monmouth, Il., 10. Dugan Thye,
Burlington, 11. Collin Rothzen, Media, Il., Jerry Wilhelm, Jr., Danville, 13. Andy
Krieger, Burlington, 14. Brandon Rothzen, Raritan, Il., 15. Chadwick Giberson,
Packwood, 16. Scott Hogan, Vinton, 17. Elmer Arnold, Sperry. HEAT WINNERS:  Roberts,

FEATURE: 1. Creston Williams, Atkins, 2. Bobby Anders, Quincy, Il., 3. Adam Shelman,
Ames, 4. Bryce Garnhart, Shanon, Il., 5. Sean Wyett, Danville, 6. Tim Zeman,
Muscatine, 7. Bradley Holtmeyer, Quincy, Il., 8. Kyle Hill, New London, 9. Logan
Anderson, Oskaloosa, 10. Derek St. Clair, Donnellson, 11. Lyle Timmerman, Wapello,
12. Scott Williams, Atkins. HEAT WINNERS: C. Williams, Shelman.

FEATURE: 1. Wayne Noble, Wapello, 2. John Whalen, Ainsworth, 3. Billy Stanford,
Wapello, 4. Kimberly Abbott, Camp Point, Il., 5. Jacob Brown Wapello, 6. Bryerson
Tharp, Grandview, 7. Brian Mehaffy, Danville, 8. Jerrod Nichols, Stronghurst, Il.,
9. Roy Norton, Burlington, 10. Shawn Baker, Burlington, 11. Brendan Mehaffy,
Danville, 12. Kevin Mortimer, Biggsville, Il., 13. Alyssa Steele, Keokuk, 14. Austen
Becerra, Carthage, Il.,  15. Brent Hartley, Niota, Il., 16. Larry Miller,
Burlington, 17.  Kyle Hamilton, Keokuk, 18. Ron Kibbe, Danville, 19. Rachael Reger,
Burlington,  20. Skip Dunker, Ursa, Il., 21. Dakota Fenton, Burlington, 22. Jake
Shannon, Donnellson. HEAT WINNERS: B. Mehaffy, Becerra, Stanford.

FEATURE: 1. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, 2. Mark Burgtorf, Quinchy, Il., 3. Dustin
Griffin, Quincy, Il., 4. Jared Schlipman, Mendon, Il., 5. Brian Harris, Davenport,
6. Ron Elbe, August, Il., 7. Jerry Lierly, Camp Point, Il., 8. Billy Genebacher,
Camp Point, Il., 9. Dick Weber, Kirksville, Mo. HEAT WINNER: Burgtorf.  TIME

Share this post